Album Review - Andy Mineo’s Uncomfortable

December 7, 2015 in Fred Bock Institute for Music

“If you want to live a comfortable life; make sure you never love anybody, be selfish, and never sacrifice”. Andy Mineo’s hard-hitting, bass-bumping, real-talk lyrics provide a fresh alternative that is unique in Christian hip-hop, and his newest album Uncomfortable is no exception.

Born Andrew Mineo, he kicked off his hip-hop career by joining a rap group known as Fat Camp during his college years, opening for mainstream artists such as Jadakiss, the Roots, and Common, before becoming a Christian and teaming up with Lecrae under the stage name “C-Light”. After initial success as a backup singer, he launched his first album in 2013, and rebranded himself under his real name, Andy Mineo.

His seventh album in only eight years, Uncomfortable is just that. It is raw, gritty, and different, and not just talking about the lyrics. Some of the soundtrack features Spanish singers, brass instrumentals, and interesting solos, to say the least (such as his references to racial stereotypes and monologues). It is just this type of music that challenges the boxes and categories we tend to place hip-hop in, and this inability to define Andy Mineo’s music is the point of the album as a whole - to challenge our comfort level and introduce “uncomfortable” as the new normal.

From his featured track Hear my Heart, a musical apology to his deaf sister, to the song Know What’s Right, which challenges religious stereotypes of Judaism and Buddhism, this musical exploration into the unknown is a journey that Andy Mineo seeks to guide. In his song Love, Andy expresses that “falling in love is easy, building it takes patience...I’m talking about the real stuff; that kind that make vulnerable and reveal stuff, that kind dealing with your pastor, get healed stuff, fellows say they real tough, but nothing braver than love, love”. Such an uncomfortable redefinition of love is often what is needed most - to be reminded of the purpose of love and how raw and unbecoming it can be; this can be seen interwoven into many of the songs on this album.

Though many say that Andy Mineo has changed his style since his days formerly known as “C-Lite”, the underlying truth that he seeks to express in his unique, undefined, uncomfortable way is just the medicine needed to provide the antidote to our status quo category of comfortable. 

- Joseph Kolapudi

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Capital Gains Tax
07/18/2019 6:09am
This was really an interesting topic and I kinda agree with what you have mentioned here!
PamelaSanchez
07/21/2019 3:58am
Excellent post! Andy Mineo's with his latest version of the album teaches a lesson for life with https://customessaysreviews.com/grademiners-com-review/ that loving someone always results to breaks your heart so try to stay away from this act in order to stay happy and contented in life.
home repipe specialist Escondido
08/05/2019 6:24am
I’ve been surfing online more than 5 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours without a doubt. It’s pretty worth enough for me. Thanks... home repipe specialist Escondido
www.scielo.org.pe/scielo.php?script=sci_arttext&pi
08/23/2019 2:57pm
I admit, I have not been on this web page in a long time... however it was another joy to see It is such an important topic and ignored by so many, even professionals. I thank you to help making people more aware of possible issues. 25162018000200003
malid
09/03/2019 11:12pm
Thanks for sharing such info. good work
SEO09
09/13/2019 12:37pm
Please let me know if you’re looking for a article writer for your site. You have some really great posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d absolutely love to write some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please send me an email if interested. Thank you! voyance margot
facebook
10/21/2019 6:55am
I am definitely bookmarking this website and sharing it with my acquaintances. You will be getting plenty of visitors to your website from me! facebook
 auto glass
10/22/2019 2:01am
I am often to blogging and that i truly appreciate your content regularly. This article has really peaks my interest. I will bookmark your internet site and keep checking achievable information.  auto glass
mtom
11/26/2019 5:33am
thank you for a really fascinating read, i hope you would do a follow up article considering i can never go through enough on this topic Bubble Shooter


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This web site is my intake, very good style and Perfect articles. for more info
mark ramer and michael saperstein
12/17/2019 11:43pm
I’m happy I found this site! From time to time, students want to cognitive the keys of productive literary essays composing. Your first-class knowledge about this good post can become a proper basis for such people. cheers!
heat recovery manufacturer
12/28/2019 5:06am
Nice post. I find out some thing very complicated on diverse blogs everyday. Most commonly it is stimulating to see content from other writers and employ a little something at their store. I’d choose to use some while using the content in my small blog no matter whether you don’t mind. Natually I’ll supply you with a link on your web blog. Many thanks for sharing. heat recovery manufacturer
mtom
12/28/2019 5:07am
everyone loves wedding parties, it is fun, it is lively and there are lots of food and drinks too, best beauty supply
Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

|
135 N Oakland Ave, Pasadena, CA 91182