San Fermin Concert Review (SXSW 2015)

May 4, 2015

The following is a review of a concert that occurred at the SXSW Music Festival. The review was an assignment from a Fuller Theological Seminary class that studies the relationship between theology and popular music, with a focus on the live experience. For more information on the class, including how to join us next year, click here.

In an effort to create fresh music, many bands resort to blending diverse, seemingly incongruous genres. The results have been varied, to say the least. You can end up with an iffy surf rock-disco hybrid, much like an unnamed Michigan band that performed early on the first official day of South by Southwest in Austin, or you can end with something elegantly catchy, which is what Brooklyn-based San Fermin have managed to achieve by mixing their proclivities for classical and pop music. Songwriter Ellis Ludwig-Leone graduated from Yale with a degree in music composition, working under composer Nico Muhly, known for his work with Grizzly Bear and Sufjan Stevens, on several film scores and operas. Ludwig-Leone decided toward the end of his college career to infuse that classical background with pop music, and the results are the technically brilliant and infectiously catchy tunes of San Fermin.

The eight-piece ensemble, including a baritone saxophone, a trumpet, a violinist, and a male and female vocal lead to go along with more typical rock band instruments, began their official SXSW performances at Hype Machine’s Hype Hotel in what looks like a converted hangar. The band filled the space brilliantly and swiftly with a quick 40-minute set of tunes old and new drawn from their 2013 self-titled release and their upcoming album, Jackrabbit, which hits stores April 21st. The arrangements were predictably intricate, and the band’s performance was tight — as my friend at the show said after, “That was technically brilliant!”

Highlights included “Sonsick,” arguably the band’s catchiest tune and clearly the one the crowd most readily recalled. It’s back-and-forth between the female lead Charlene Kaye and the horn section in the chorus along with the epic flourishes both vocally and instrumentally left the audience with their jaws dropped until the baritone saxophone blasted the guitar line of the Strokes’ “Heart in A Cage,” which they closed the set with. The Punch Brothers are known for covering the same song, but San Fermin were better equipped to capture the song’s panicky, high-volume temper.

San Fermin were a tough act to follow, and their live performance was able to capture the energy and technical intricacy that made their first album so great. A group of highly skilled musicians who like pop music makes for a great combination — much more palpable than surf rock-disco.

BRANDON HOOK. Brandon hopes to see where God is speaking and working in all of life: in nature, movies, music, people—specifically what Jesus calls “the least of these” in Matthew 25—himself, and even politics, which he still has a lot to learn about. Brandon found this passion for the intersection between faith and culture at Azusa Pacific University and continues to foster it as he pursues a Masters of Arts in Theology at Fuller Theological Seminary. Though he has spent considerable time in California, Brandon is not originally from the Golden State. He hails from Wauwatosa, Wisconsin. Among many other things, he loves his family, friends, photography, seasons, and nostalgic movies that try to pin down the elusive concept of home.

Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

Zion
04/18/2019 1:47am
This is one of the best concert I ever see because It is one of the most wanted concert in our city. And assignmentmasters.co.uk review also cover in a good way so students able to see it.
Steve Maddox
02/05/2020 2:20am
Essentially I actually learn them a short while ago nonetheless I had put together quite a few opinions regarding this now Needed to read simple things them just as before for the reason that it is well crafted. best CBD oil for anxiety
Illinois Business Directory
02/05/2020 6:13am
Impressive web site, Distinguished feedback that I can tackle. I am moving forward and may apply to my current job as a pet sitter, which is very enjoyable, but I need to additional expand. Regards Illinois Business Directory
Read Full Report
03/03/2020 5:22am
First You got a great blog .I will be interested in more similar topics. i see you got really very useful topics, i will be always checking your blog thanks. Read Full Report
arctic blast pain drops
03/12/2020 12:25am
Great article with excellent idea!Thank you for such a valuable article. I really appreciate for this great information.. arctic blast pain drops
muhammad ali
03/25/2020 1:04am
This was among the best posts and episode from your team it let me learn many new things. บาคาร่า
royal green
03/28/2020 2:40am
Thanks for a wonderful share. Your article has proved your hard work and experience you have got in this field. Brilliant .i love it reading. royal green
muhammad ali
04/01/2020 7:47am
Three are usually cheap Ralph Lauren available for sale each and every time you wish to buy. สมัคร sa
https://www.nolpot.com
04/30/2020 6:09am
What a fantabulous post this has been. Never seen this kind of useful post. I am grateful to you and expect more number of posts like these. Thank you very much. https://www.nolpot.com
tomjerry
04/30/2020 11:36am
A very excellent blog post. I am thankful for your blog post. I have found a lot of approaches after visiting your post. situs judi qq online terpercaya
alam
05/01/2020 7:44am
quer comprar roupas de inverno atacado e não sabe onde? temos ótimas dicas para você que quer abastecer sua loja com roupas moda inverno, temos blusas manga longa, roupas de moletom e tudo para você passar este inverno quentinho. roupas de inverno atacado
먹튀
05/03/2020 3:07am
It is an excellent blog, I have ever seen. I found all the material on this blog utmost unique and well written. And, I have decided to visit it again and again. 먹튀
www.fitness-china.cn/commercial-treadmills
05/03/2020 6:29am
Nice post! This is a very nice blog that I will definitively come back to more times this year! Thanks for informative post. www.fitness-china.cn/commercial-treadmills
Get Healthy Today Fast
05/04/2020 6:36am
You there, this is really good post here. Thanks for taking the time to post such valuable information. Quality content is what always gets the visitors coming. Get Healthy Today Fast
Harry Jack
05/11/2020 1:00pm
Many people in the world of today are getting weight loss because of illness. Not everyone healthy loses their weight, people who are sick also lose their wight. And that is nor a very good sign Facebook video downloader
123movies
05/13/2020 12:26pm
It is my first visit to your blog, and I am very impressed with the articles that you serve. Give adequate knowledge for me. Thank you for sharing useful material. I will be back for the more great post. 123movies
Harry Jack
05/16/2020 11:39am
If someone week i really ashen-haired not actually pretty, whether you will lite grope a present, thought to follow us to displays bursting with ends of the earth considerably? Inside the impeccant previous, sea ever have dried-up, my hubby and i only may very well be with all of you connected thousands of samsara pkv games online
Harry Jack
05/20/2020 11:40am
Hi there! Nice material, do keep me posted when you post something like this again! I will visit this blog leaps and bounds for more quality posts like it. Thanks klimt cairnhill showflat
Harry Jack
05/29/2020 3:12am
Your content is nothing short of bright in many forms. I think this is friendly and eye-opening material. I have gotten so many ideas from your blog. Thank you so much. judi online
tomjerry
06/05/2020 9:07am
Your content is nothing short of bright in many forms. I think this is friendly and eye-opening material. I have gotten so many ideas from your blog. Thank you so much. Situs BandarQQ
Odette Mariemus
06/09/2020 12:48am
Awesome post bud, i like to see and visit any information on this posting. I think i will back again, to see another good one here, If you want to know more about me, please don't hesitate to contact me here: Situs Dominoqq Online
Harry Jack
06/28/2020 10:13am
I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post. bandar bola
Harry Jack
07/11/2020 3:39am
You seem to have maintained your charm over all these years, quite commendable I must say! quizz
jenny john
07/18/2020 4:23am
Positive site, where did u come up with the information on this posting?I have read a few of the articles on your website now, and I really like your style. Thanks a million and please keep up the effective work. smm panel
aaa
07/21/2020 6:33am
Thanks you very much for sharing these links. Will definitely check this out..
Eagoparts.com
aaa
07/21/2020 12:28pm
Thanks for sharing nice information with us. i like your post and all you share with us is uptodate and quite informative. i would like to bookmark the page so i can come here again to read you. as you have done a wonderful job.
http://carbatteriesperth.com
aaa
07/22/2020 12:41am
New web site is looking good. Thanks for the great effort.
https://www.allseasonspest.com/pest-control-olympia-wa/
ferozshaikh
07/22/2020 12:00pm
I love this blog!! The flash up the top is awesome!!
Digital Marketing
aaaa
07/23/2020 9:40am
I would like to say that this blog really convinced me to do it! Thanks. very good post.
<a >máy ipl triệt lông</a>
aaa
07/23/2020 9:40am
I'm glad I found this web site. I couldn't find any knowledge on this matter prior to.Also operate a site and if you are ever interested in doing some visitor writing for me if possible feel free to let me know. im always look for people to check out my web site.
<a >máy ipl triệt lông</a>
Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the word you see in the image below:

|
135 N Oakland Ave, Pasadena, CA 91182