Film & TV

Saint Nicholas: The Real Story
By Elijah Davidson on November 11, 2016

Saint Nicholas: The Real Story isn’t the kind of film you are going to happen across accidentally. It is independently produced to the fullest extent – the work of passionate filmmakers, Fuller alumna Martha Kimsey Bennett and her husband Stuart Lachlan Bennett, inspired by something new and wonderful they encountered, and eager to share that inspiration with others. Yes, it’s about the jolly man with the long white beard we look for on Christmas Eve, but more, it’s about a man most of us do not know at all, a brother in Christ who lived hundreds of years ago whose life is a model for the kinds of people we ought to be today. Actually, the film is about two men, both named Nicholas, who’s identities have become intertwined by time into the figure we know as Santa Claus.

Ostensibly a documentary in the travelogue format, Saint Nicholas: The Real Story follows historian Dr. Mark Wilson around the Mediterranean as he visits the places the two Nicholases lived and talks with other historians and scholars who have devoted their lives to disentangling the two saints and celebrating both of them. This fleet documentary (~55 minutes) doesn’t seek to “reclaim” Santa Claus from a secular culture. Notably, the scholars, Wilson, and his filmmaking team aren’t anti-Claus, partially because they know any publicity is good publicity, but more because they are glad the world embraces the man. They are just working to make him better known.

In moments, a curious cinematic poetry emerges amongst the film’s historical lesson, as if all of this “real story” about St. Nick is a kind of window onto a deeper truth about the world at large – we have forgotten the truth about St. Nicholas, but that truth remains true, buried beneath hundreds of years of pop-cultural accumulation but resilient and eager to be seen if we’d only look.

In my favorite moment in the film, Wilson stands on the shore of Lake Iznik near the site of Constantine’s former palace talking about Nicholas’ activities during the Council of Nicaea. Then the camera lifts off from the ground and soars over the azure waters revealing the submerged foundation of a cathedral. Santa Claus may be, for some, a symbol of worst of consumerism, but elevating ourselves above a combative relationship with the world, we discover the righteous foundations undergirding everything. The image of St. Nicholas may be used to sell soda pop, but he once gave his life to help craft the Nicene Creed. If that has been forgotten, it’s because we Christians have turned our backs on the world we when should have been serving it, like Nicholas, instead.

Near the end of the film, the filmmakers visit Dr. Caroline Wilkinson, a world-renowned facial anthropologist, and watch as she digitally reconstructs Nicholas’ face in three dimensions for the first time in history. What she crafts is both familiar to those of us who grew up watching Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer and yet new - a man of Greek-descent, olive-skinned and ruddy-cheeked, with a long white beard and a bulbous nose broken perhaps by the fist of a soldier who struck him because he was a Christian. This new face represents both the real man and our myths about him, a reminder that both can be true. I know the face is computer generated, but as I watched it hover there on screen, I could have sworn I saw a twinkle in its eye.

You can order Saint Nicholas: The Real Story from Vision Video. If you are one of our Russian or Ukrainian readers, the film will air on television this Christmas.

About the Author: Elijah Davidson

26 Responses to "Saint Nicholas: The Real Story"

  1. dsfdf

  2. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point. You clearly know what you’re talking about.  Play survival island evo 2 free one of the best game I ever play. I would recommend this game to you people who like survival games.

    by Samuel D. Darden on Jan 23rd, 2020 at 3:16 pm
  3. This is a good post. This post gives truly quality information. I’m definitely going to look into it. Really very useful tips are provided here. Thank you so much. Keep up the good works.
    Chameleon pet

  4. This is very educational content and written well for a change. It’s nice to see that some people still understand how to write a quality post.!
    Home Improvement

    by john bond on Feb 6th, 2020 at 6:31 am
  5. Is it okay to post part of this on my website basically post a hyperlink to this webpage?
    rico chandra kusuma

    by john bond on Feb 8th, 2020 at 4:49 am
  6. Interesting and amazing how your post is! It Is Useful and helpful for me That I like it very much, and I am looking forward to Hearing from your next..
    Cardiovascular disease

  7. I was looking at some of your posts on this website and I conceive this web site is really instructive! Keep putting up..
    Orange County Electrician Air Conditioning Home Services

  8. Nice post! This is a very nice blog that I will definitively come back to more times this year! Thanks for informative post.
    Orange County Electrician Air Conditioning Home Services

  9. Your blog provided us with valuable information to work with. Each &  every tips of your post are awesome. Thanks a lot for sharing. Keep blogging,
    injury

  10. Thanks so much for this information.  I have to let you know I concur on several of the points you make here and others may require some further review, but I can see your viewpoint. เว็บแทงบอลออนไลน์ที่ดีที่สุด

  11. Nice blog and absolutely outstanding. You can do something much better but i still say this perfect.Keep trying for the best.
    best serums with hyaluronic acid

  12. I love to read real stories of peoples who did best in their lives.But i like this the most because taught a lesson which is incredible.Hope to grab more such stuff every time.A tomoloo hoverboard reviews

  13. was born circa 280 in Patara, Lycia, an area that is part of present-day Turkey. He lost both of his parents as a young man and reportedly used his inheritance to help the poor and sick. A devout Christian, he later served as bishop of Myra, a city that is now called Demre. tree removal

    by jason smith on May 26th, 2020 at 10:25 pm
  14. Custom & reasonably-priced hoverboards pores and skin are very a whole lot famous some of the people and a hoverboard carrying case helps you to convey your hoverboard everywhere you need. hoverboards made in america But there are some hoverboard pores and skin and instances which are the maximum famous among users and we’re going to speak approximately them within the phase arising. So let us have a look at them.

    by hoverwheels on May 27th, 2020 at 4:07 am
  15. It’s tremendous for kitchens and wet bars. Since it’s without difficulty portable and doesn’t need a power connection, portable crushed ice maker you could also bring it with you and enjoy beaten ice at the pass. Complementing the zinc alloy construction are stainless-steel blades that reduce through ice like butter.

    by portcrush on Jun 1st, 2020 at 2:35 am
  16. Every December 6, the faithful celebrate St. Nicholas Day in cities all over the world, with the largest ones taking place in Europe. Images of St. Nicholas vary considerably, but none of them look much like the red-cheeked, white-bearded old man seen everywhere today. One of the most compelling views of the real St. Nick, who lived in the third and fourth centuries, was created not by ancient artists but by using modern forensic facial reconstruction. | melbourne nlp training

    by xander ford on Jun 2nd, 2020 at 12:55 am
  17. They had been on this enterprise considering the fact that 2008 and feature designed many websites for clients all around the international. Webdesigning services haryana Easy Web Plans deeply is familiar with the importance of web sites in nowadays’s enterprise.

    by Digidesign on Jun 8th, 2020 at 7:03 am
  18. In the occasion you are login in from a secure mobile tool, the “don’t forget me” choice may be beneficial, however you’ll in no way need to toggle this on within the event which you aren’t using a private device because it could positioned your comfortable accounts at danger in the event that the incorrect character stumbles upon your statistics.

    by processlines on Jun 13th, 2020 at 3:20 am
  19. In the occasion you are login in from a secure mobile tool, the “don’t forget me” choice may be beneficial, however you’ll in no way need to toggle this on within the event which you aren’t using a private device because it could positioned your comfortable accounts at danger in the event that the incorrect character stumbles upon your statistics.

    tiaa cref login account

    by processlines on Jun 13th, 2020 at 3:21 am
Remember my personal information
Notify me of follow-up comments?

Please enter the text you see in the image below:


|
135 N Oakland Ave, Pasadena, CA 91182